Fanatic register – John Dillinger
by Hannie
I just received an email saying that there had been a new registration for this blog. Intriguing! I was quite flattered – not going to lie.
Details:
Username: MisterX82507
E-mail: JohnDillinger1903@gmx.com
Unfortunately, I know no John Dillinger, so I decided to search engine his email. It came up with a few interesting results: basically, this John dude has been registering on random WordPress based blogs. He’s signing up with the same email address and similar username; the username always seems to have different digits at the end of it.
The bloggers, who were also confused about this new registration, asked other people for help, and whether this guy was safe. This is what I found, in case someone has stumbled across my blog for the same reason:
1) He registers when it’s possible to. Some people think that he only register’s when you can automatically become an editor/admin and then ridiculously span your site. However, this isn’t true for my site, so I doubt this is true. But be careful instead.
2) I had a look at the time stamps for everywhere I looked at it seems that this John only started working yesterday (8th). I don’t know what this means, but I saw it, and wanted to point it out to you ![]()
3) Each time he signs up he has different 4 digits at the end of the username
4) All of the blogs have no connection. For that reason, I think it is a spam bot just trying to get connections/emails/places to spam so they can advertise or whatever they want to do.
I don’t think he’s bad (unless he’s waiting for something to happen…!). If you are him and you are a legit person, please do email me letting me know, and sorry for this huge misunderstanding!!
But to all those confused bloggers out there, if you do find this new registration, don’t fret too much. But I do suggest deleting him as we don’t know what he is or what he’ll do.
(Haha I just searched John Dillinger in google and it says he was a bank robber at the start of the 20th century. Spooky!!)
This is standard automatic spammer methodology. It isn’t a human hitting the keys, and his name certainly isn’t John. It’s an automated program that’s finding blogs and then registering in order to see if the software is an old, buggy version which can be hacked for various nefarious purposes. I get two or three bogus registrations like this a week, all with weird names and bogus addresses. Either ignore them or just disable user registration; the latter will stop it from happening in the future.
Yes this JohnDillinger1903@gmx.com signed on as a user on my blog also. I have deleted him as a user and hope that “he” doesn’t return. I have to laugh though, if you are NOT going to do something BAD then why choose a name of a nefarious criminal?! It’s actually nice that the name give people the willies, I hope more folks just delete “him”. I will let you know if “he” returns, or something goes wrong with my blog. I think the most interesting thing will be to see HOW MANY blogs this entity has been able to register on. I think where there is smoke, there is fire and I will be that this is an automated function and we will be hearing from a lot of bloggers asking these same questions. We shall see….
Thanks for this post, saved me trawling the internet, he’s no longer a subscriber for my site
thanks for the post. i deleted him as well.